Literary Critiques: Oliver Twist

“The sun,–the bright sun, that brings back, not light alone, but new life, and hope, and freshness to man–burst upon the crowded city in clear and radiant glory. Through costly-coloured glass and paper-mended window, through cathedral dome and rotten crevice, it shed its equal ray.”

It seems I have neglected to announce the next book critique in my Watership Down post. This has been a trying time for me these past few months, but I’m finally back on track. I was pondering on which book to critique next these past few months, and I’ve decided to go over Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens. Of the four books I have currently read by Dickens, I must say this is my favorite alongside A Tale of Two Cities (which I may go over in the future). After reading Oliver Twist, I’ve gained much respect for Charles Dickens and his social commentaries. He is now one of my favorite authors. But why is that? Why did I like Oliver Twist so much when I was reading it? It has been a while since I have read it; and the more time passes, the more I ask myself this question.

The Plot:

“‘Oliver Twist’ The Parish Boy’s Progress is a book in which Oliver Twist is a nine-year-old orphan boy who doesn’t know who his parents were. He escapes from a workhouse to London where he meets the ‘Artful Dodger'(Jack Dawkins) ,leader of the gang of the juvenile pickpockets.” – (Taken from wikibooks.org)

The Impact:

So why did I like this book when I read it? I believe it was the way Dickens had written it. As I have said above, Dickens is one of my favorite authors. The reason I like his works so much is because of his social commentaries; and he has much to say in Oliver Twist. We see this innocent young boy, whose only crime was being an orphan. I remember reading about how he worked for an undertaker and a chimney-sweeper, while living in the orphanage. But, because of his crime for being an orphan, he his constantly bullied and abused by the so-called “good” Mr. Bumble. Because of this poor treatment, Oliver runs away and joins a gang of pickpockets. He enters this life of crime; and why?

When I read this book, I can’t help feeling sorry for Oliver, and most especially for the real people who live like he did. This is exactly the point Dickens makes. Usually when we see someone living a life of crime, we “Mr. Bumbles” of society  might look upon these “Olivers” of society as nothing more than vicious troublemakers who ought to be locked up. We choose not to see anything beyond that trait in these people. But why did Oliver enter this life of poverty and crime? Did he choose to live like that, or was it given to him? Oftentimes, people live a life of crime because of their mistreatment. Think of all the people on the streets now! Why are they out on the streets? Is it because of mistreatment at home? Is it because they have no home at all? What do you think?

My favorite books are those that have commentary, and I think Dickens makes a commentary in Oliver Twist that should be pondered upon even today. Our human society has many flaws; should we just lock up the impoverished and pretend they do not exist? Or do we try to express love and friendship to everyone so that nobody lives like Oliver did? Are you more like Oliver? Or are you more like, say, Mr. Bumble? Think about it.

Next month I’ll be going over Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s/Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling.

I’m Jordan B. Jolley, author of The Tales of Draco and Fairy Tales, Fables & Other Short Stories. These books go into the depths of folklore and display to the reader what life is really about. Magic spells and creatures of legend are only the beginning of what you may find within their pages. I promise you that if you read these books, they will change the way you see your world.

The Tales of Draco: Rise of the Dragon (click here)

Jolley_Cover_CROP_72DPI

The Tales of Draco: The Six Pieces (click here)

The Six Pieces book cover (2)

Fairy Tales, Fables & Other Short Stories: Collection 1 (click here)

51QkGhPVYUL

Author: Jordan B. Jolley

My name is Jordan Brent Jolley, author of the newly released series The Tales of Draco.

Leave a comment